Friday Fun with JL Salter

Friday Fun…

10 Random Questions with… Author J. L. Salter

  1. Tropical Island or Cabin in the Woods?

JLS: Assuming each is equipped with things like indoor plumbing, some type of climate control, electricity, and wi fi — I’d take the cabin any day. In fact, we live in a house with log-siding, on a farm, near five acres of woods. I would like to visit a tropical island, but it would have to be one without all the touristy stuff… yet in an area where safety would not be an issue.

  1. Coffee or tea?

JLS: Coffee! No question. Never developed a taste for tea. Don’t quite see the point.

  1. Superman or Batman?

JLS: I grew up on the Silver Age comics of the DC brand — in other words, NOT the Marvel brand characters. And of all the DC characters, my all time favorite was Superman. Of course, I must add that the DC execs (and writers) beginning changing so many things in the mid 1980s, that Superman was no longer recognizable as the character I’d grown up admiring. They’d KILL Superman in one issue and two months later, he was back as a totally different character. They’ve ruined the character for me. But when I get my hands on an issue from the 1960s, I’m all over it.

  1. Cook dinner or wash dishes?

JLS: I have no patience – or talent – whatsoever in the meal-making part of the kitchen. If a meal requires more than two steps – open container and nuke the contents – I won’t even consider it. But I happen to be a champ at loading the dishwasher. [I don’t like UN-loading it, however.] That said, my wife has a totally different approach to dishwasher loading… so we cannot both participate in loading the same cycle. If she starts one load, she has to finish it… because I can’t stand her method (actually, the lack of method) of placement. Ha.

  1. Walking Dead or Once a Upon a Time?

JLS: Don’t believe I’ve seen the fairy tale series, but I’m fascinated by the AMC series, “Walking Dead.” Interestingly, it’s not the zombie-killing which attracts me — in fact, I’d actually prefer LESS blood and gore. It’s the characters… and the extreme situations they face in this survival mode. It’s about how society can so totally devolve and what individuals do (or don’t do) to cope. Great show.

  1. Snow day or spring break?

JLS: Hmm. After living in the Arctic for nearly a year, spending one winter in Iowa, and living in Kentucky for these past 9.5 years — I’m pretty well over my childhood fascination with snow. [Most of my childhood was in southeast Louisiana.] As a teen, I never did the spring break “thing” such as you see in movies, so my concept of a spring break is to listen to the birds, watch the squirrels, and enjoy the flora come back to life after winter has ended.

  1. Handwriting or typing?

JLS: Ha. My handwriting is atrocious. I’ve been typing MOST of my “work” (including documentation, reports, manuals, and correspondence) since I took typing as a high school freshman. In fact, my first major purchase – with my own hard-earned money, by the way – was an electric typewriter, which I bought in my junior year for about $180. Smith-Corona Electra 120. I was still using it up through 1980… some 13 years later.

  1. Ten minutes early or twenty minutes late?

JLS: I’ve always hated arriving anywhere late. Even to places I didn’t want to go. I always want to be there slightly before the official start time — to get the lay of the land, so to speak. Sometimes, it’s simply a matter of getting a better seat.

  1. Dogs or cats?

JLS: For most of my life, the emphatic answer would be DOGS. But about 13-14 years ago, my wife obtained a Maine Coon from a local animal shelter. She originally got it to control the mice at the place where she worked. But the other co-workers soon tired of the cat jumping on their desks and going other places he didn’t belong… so she had to bring him home. We call him “King Sipper” because he’s the one really in charge here. [We also have a dog, Bojangles. Used to have two dogs, but Belle was killed by two other large dogs.]

  1. Five star resort or tent?

JLS: There were days – when I was younger – when my answer would have been TENT. But as I’ve become a grandfather, I find my physical comfort is more and more important. And my physical ailments have become more and more prevalent. So my choice now would be for the resort… provided we had the disposable funds to afford it.

 

 

 

5 comments

  1. Patricia Kiyono · ·

    I remember being so disappointed when Superman changed in the 80s. They said they were updating him, but he was so different I didn’t recognize him. I’d say about half of my answers would match yours – and for the same reasons!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jeff7salter · ·

      Yes, and they did all that overhauling across their entire spectrum of titles. Totally ruined the characters for me. If not for the “S” on his chest I would not even imagine these new iterations to link to the “real” superman whatsoever.

      Like

  2. jeff7salter · ·

    thank you for hostessing me, Joselyn. I’m afraid I forgot to send you some other portion of the material you requested. Sorry.

    Like

  3. Nice interview; good job, both of you!
    We see eye-to-eye on a number of issues, Jeff, but I do enjoy a nice cup of tea and definitely iced tea.
    As for being late,I was never late for anything until I got married…then I was seldom on time.After 30+ years, my husband has gotten better, but it has been nerve-wracking for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jeff7salter · ·

      I totally understand, Tonette. Sometimes it’s like a spouse has a diff. time zone

      Like

