Christmas Treats with Patricia Kiyono

 

Cookie exchangeWalnut Refrigerator Cookies

1 cup margarine

2 cups packed brown sugar

1 teaspoons vanilla

2 eggs

3-1/2 cups sifted flower

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup finely chopped nuts

1 cup finely chopped candied cherries (optional)

 

  1. Cream margarine, sugar, and vanilla until fluffy. Add eggs and mix well
  2. Sift together flour, salt, and soda and blend into creamed mixture. Add nuts and candied cherries and mix well.
  3. Shape dough into long rolls about two inches in diameter. Wrap each in waxed paper or foil and chill until firm. (These can be kept in the refrigerator for several days until needed!)
  4. Cut chilled roll into quarter-inch to half-inch slices and bake at 375 degrees for about 8 minutes.

 

I’m participating in two different cookie exchanges this year. Normally I cheat and do a no-bake type, but this year I went for an oldie but goodie. I dug in my recipe box and found this recipe that I remember making with my mom long ago. We’d make several batches of the dough on weekends and then when we’d bake what we needed whenever we waned them so we’d always have fresh cookies in the house. Later on, when I had my own home I used the recipe often when I was a busy working mom because I could do most of the messy stuff ahead of time. Recently, I dug it out again because I was invited to two holiday cookie exchanges and thought it would be nice to share a cookie from my childhood. Plus, making all the dough ahead of time makes things easier!

ChristmasJourney 500x750 (1) ChristmasWishes 500x750 (1) PatriciaKiyonoThe people in two of my Christmas books live in the small West Michigan town of Zutphen. It’s not a real town, but it’s based on several towns in my area. Favorite, tried-and-true recipes are handed down from generation to generation, and the people are always there for each other. Could you use a little small town magic this year?

 

Christmas Wishes is available at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords, iTunes, and Kobo.

 

Christmas Journey can be purchased at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords, iTunes, and Kobo.

 

 

 

Patricia Kiyono can be found at her website, personal blog, group blog, Amazon, Goodreads, Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram.

2 comments

  1. Hi Patricia, I live in one of those small West Michigan towns of which you speak. Ordered Christmas Wishes for my Kindle because I love small town stories. Your cookies are perfect for enjoying with a cup of Christmas tea. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  2. That looks yummy !

    Like

