Christmas Treats with Pegg Thomas

cookies Cheesecake Bites:

3/4 cup butter – softened (margarine won’t work)
4 oz cream cheese – softened (not the light stuff – it’s Christmas for pity’s sake)
2/3 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups flour (can be 1/2 cup whole wheat and 1 1/2 cups regular)
4 – 5 squares of graham crackers, crushed to crumbs (a little chunky is fine)
jam (cherry is my favorite – raspberry a close second)

Mix together in order given – except the crumbs and jam. Roll dough into 1″ balls (don’t go larger, they’ll break too easily). Roll balls in the crumbs. Make a thumbprint in each cookie. Add 1/2 tsp. jam to the thumbprint. Bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes. Makes about 3 dozen.

 

Trooper and Pegg croppedChristmas cookies are our huge family tradition of the season. My mother and her sister and sisters-in-law would all meet at Grandma’s house and spend the entire day baking, frosting, and decorating the Christmas cookies. My cousins and I did a lot of the frosting and decorating as soon as we were old enough to safely wield a knife. Of course Grandma was right in the middle of all us grandkids, laughing it up and having a great time. After the massive cleanup, we’d take home Tupperware containers overflowing with goodness and memories that still warm my heart.

That tradition continues today at my house. My sisters-in-law come and we spend the day making cookies, no less than six varieties. There are no children to help right now, but I have four great-nephews all age three and under, who are waiting in the wings. I’ll pass along this Christmas tradition and plan to be laughing it up and having a great time with them.

Pegg Thomas writes Christian Historical Fiction with a touch of humor. A lifelong history geek, she also enjoys puttering in the kitchen, in the garden, and in the barn. If you can’t find her in any of those places on a sunny day, she’s probably out riding on her trusty old Trooper.

 

PeggThomas.com | Facebook | Twitter  | Google+  | Quid Pro Quills  | Colonial Quills

3 comments

  1. I’m making wild grape jelly, jalapeno jelly, and sweet potato butter to send out this year. We’ll see how that goes. Don’t have a wonderful cookie tradition–but I wish we did!

    Like

  2. It’s never too late to start one! I’ve never had sweet potato butter.

    Like

  3. Oh! Since I wrote this and sent it to Joselyn, there has been an update … I now have FIVE great-nephews to instill the love of Christmas cookies in. Happy times ahead!

    Like

