Tuesday Tales

Tuesday Tales

 

Welcome to Tuesday Tales!

Penny and Ken are back. There’s been a little wine and now they are discussing marriage — not to each other! (at least, not yet. :-)) These two seem to get into it every time they are around each other.

 

“Like I said I wanted a marriage to last forever. I’m not going to take the chance with someone who isn’t right for me.” Ken refilled Penny’s wine glass, then emptied the rest of the bottle into his own.

“How did you know? If you were looking for someone who could put up with your condescending ways, I can understand how the search would have been difficult.” Penny raised her glass. The wine had dulled the pain in her broken leg, but it was also adding fog to her brain.

“I’m not done searching.” Ken slid a glance toward her from the overstuffed chair.

Penny’s sip of wine went straight up her nose. What was he insinuating? Just because she planned to get married didn’t mean she expected everyone at her age to be searching for a mate. Was he finagling for her list? “Well, Elaine was interested tonight.”

“Sure, she was, but I’m not changing my standards.”

Maybe Penny’s tongue wasn’t the only one being loosened by the wine. “I’m sure Elaine would love to hear that. She’s a sweet woman.”

“I need someone with more edge, who’s not afraid to speak her mind.”

Another mouthful of wine up her nose. Ken was going to think she had motor-function problems. “Why?”

“Because yes men get old quick. I couldn’t take thirty years of the fawning and doting.”

Penny dismissed the relief that washed over her. She shouldn’t be thinking of Elaine as a rival. Harold was on her list, not Ken. And she wasn’t planning to be on Ken’s. “You expect to live into your nineties?”

“Why not? I’m in good shape, healthy, fit. I want to enjoy my retirement and not be tiptoeing around my house worried that I’ll offend my wife.”

“Sounds like you’ve given this a lot of thought.”

“What can I say? You’ve inspired me.” Ken raised his glass as if to salute her.

Penny was ready to give up on her second glass of wine. Every time she took a gulp, Ken said something that forced the liquid into her nasal cavity. “Don’t expect a double wedding.”

“I wouldn’t dream of it. Why isn’t your theoretical wedding not going to be the most special day of your life?”

“It’s not theoretical.”

“It is until you find a groom.”

“Who says I haven’t found one?”

“I don’t see a ring on your finger.”

“Doesn’t mean I haven’t found a fellow.” But her ring finger felt suspiciously cold and bare.

“You’re not answering my question.”

“Why is it your business?” Everyone called her a busybody, but Ken’s interest in her potential marriage would make the most voracious gossip proud. She almost had to admire this tenacity.

“I suppose it’s not. But it looks like we’re going to be in each other’s company for a few weeks. We might as well get to know each other.”

“Weeks? Buck said that I couldn’t be alone for a couple days.”

“I meant while I was in town.”

“I thought you were trying to move here.”

“Stop trying to change the subject. What do you have against true love?”

 

 

 

—-

Thanks for stopping by! Be sure to check out the rest of the Tuesday Tales at  http://tuesdaytales1.blogspot.com/.

13 comments

  1. Oh these two are going to be interesting!! Love the interplay between them.

    Like

    1. They have been so much fun to write. The dialogue just spirals on tangents.

      Like

  2. Love the banter back and forth. It’s going to be fun watching them fall in love, resisting it all the way!! Great story.

    Like

  3. Great interplay back and forth between them. This is going to be fun!

    Like

  4. so real with the wine going up her nose- love it

    Like

  5. Ooh, I really like their chemistry!

    Like

  6. Love their banter! 🙂

    Like

  7. I like the dialogue and the wine up her nose!

    Like

  8. Thanks so much for stopping by. Penny’s story is so fun to share.

    Like

  9. Great banter between these too. Love this story.

    Like

  10. Great fun scene. Read a story about a woman who planned her wedding, but had no groom, but decided to go ahead with it.

    Like

  11. I adore these two. Lots of great dialogue.

    Like

