Fuel Your Creativity with Olivia Polk

Let’s give a warm welcome to Olivia Polk!!

One way I fuel my creativity other than writing is through painting. This is something I started after my son was born and it has been a great way for me to express myself, try something new and learn a new craft. I quit my job when my son was born and am now a stay-at-home-mom. I love spending time with him and feel very lucky we are able to have this special time together. However, raising a child is obviously a longer term “project” than writing a book or finishing a work project!

Christmas Ornament After working as a public relations professional for 10 years, it was difficult to feel the same sense of accomplishment at the end of each day as I did when I was working.Dessertr Painting has been a great outlet for my creativity and has given me the extra sense of accomplishment and production I needed.

It sounds cliché, but I find inspiration everywhere. I’ve painted pieces inspired by photos in a magazine, a book and even from the holidays. Wicked Several of my first paintings were inspired by Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas. I remind myself that the painting doesn’t need to be perfect but is always a good opportunity for practice. Thankful - FallIt has been a surprising new hobby and I’ve been very pleased with the response I’ve received. I opened an Etsy shop with my sister and we sold one of my first paintings very quickly. This is something I plan to continue practicing and am looking forward to seeing my skill grow in time.

 

Babymaid book cover Babymaid Book Blurb

Lexi’s life is finally falling into place. She has just received a much-deserved promotion to manage a public relations campaign for a new Miami hotel complete with a handsome hotel manager. Just when she thinks she will have the big news during happy hour, her best friend Savannah drops a baby-powder covered bomb. She’s pregnant. BOOM! Before Lexi has a chance to recover from the shell-shock, Kate, the third musketeer in their trio, admits that she too is expecting. KA-BAM!

Lexi soon realizes her whole life is undergoing a baby proof makeover when Kate moves into her condo to flee a failing marriage. As the pits of real pregnancy start to multiply —food aversions, medical tests and more, Lexi starts to wonder if she actually knows anything about real pregnancy.

Between the hotel launch and her leading role as babymaid, Lexi can hardly keep baby bottles and champagne bottles straight and starts to question if she can handle the pressure. Can Lexi survive the pregnancies, pull off the hotel launch of the year and snag her own someday-baby-daddy? She knew how to be a bridesmaid, can she learn to be a…babymaid?

http://www.amazon.com/Babymaid-Olivia-Polk-ebook/dp/B00I2XXCUC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1406832576&sr=8-1&keywords=babymaid

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/babymaid-jane-f-odowd/1118331220?ean=2940148113034

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20831584-babymaid?from_search=true

JaneandOlivia.com

Author Bio

Olivia Polk and Jane O’Dowd are Orlando-based friends, moms and public relations professionals. Their fun debut novel Babymaid tells the story of how female relationships evolve when women make the transition from friends to friends-with-kids.

 

2 comments

  1. Cute story concept. Book sounds great. Thank you for sharing your book and paintings.

    Like

  2. Delightful paintings AND a clever premise for your book, Olivia. I have never entertained the idea to write a book in collaboration with another author. Is it easier or more difficult to have a partner? Best wishes. Love the cover!

    Like

