Scrappy Remnants!

As you may have guessed, I love sewing. I have so much fun putting fabrics and colors together and watching a project take shape.

floral bag

This is from some decorator swatches the my mother-in-law found at a garage sale. I was so excited to find a way to use them.

IMG_8167r

More fabric swatches. I added gold decorative thread along the exterior seams.

artist rolls

These are great for pencils, crochet hooks, knitting needles, or paint brushes. I use one for my small sewing supplies like my seam ripper, rulers, hera, and screw drivers.

The bags are fun because the pattern is simple, but you can change it up in so many ways.

another tote

Another tote from the swatches. This one had decorative stitching on the inside.

Decorative stitching on floral and toile tote

On some of the bags I make use of the bazillion decorative stitches on my sewing machine. I think it adds something special to the project. Doing the stitching is much more difficult than I imagined… or my machine is persnickety.

Fabric swatch bag

Another bag from the fabric swatches. A few years ago, I was going to make a big bag for all my rotary cutting mats and rulers. I made it as far as the exterior and lost hope. Recently I pulled the project back out and converted it to two tote bags.

Fleece throw

A fleece throw with a heart applique and a colorful edge. A quick and easy project.

The problems I have is what to do with the things that I make. I only *need* so many bags or quilts or whatever. When the opportunity comes, I donate them, but there are still extras.

To see more projects, check out my Facebook page and Etsy shop, Scrappy Remnants. Thanks for letting me share my fun with you.

4 comments

  1. Multi-talented, Joselyn! I’m FBing and Tweeting. Have a lovely Christmas.

    Like

    1. Thanks for sharing, Marsha! These items need to go to new homes. 🙂

      Like

  2. I have all these projects, and I know I can do them, but sometimes it’s just so hard to get started! You’re an inspiration. If you can do all this with three little ones and a writing career, there’s no reason I can’t get my projects done, too. Lovely bags!

    Like

    1. I think that’s one of the reasons I like these projects. They usually only take a couple hours (which may be spread over a week) and there aren’t a million pieces to get lost. I’ve thought about doing quilts again, but they are just too big of a project.

      Like

