Fuel Your Creativity with Kelly Martin

Kelly claims she doesn’t do anything creative besides write. In my book, being a preschool teacher takes a whole lot of creativity. I face a room with more than three preschoolers with sheer terror. Even if she doesn’t think it’s creative, it’s very brave!

Kelly Martin

I want to thank Joselyn for having me on her blog today!

I feel like I’m out of my league, though. She told me to write about creativity, but the catch is it can’t be about writing. (EEP!)

Now, I don’t know if you know this or not, but I’m a preschool teacher. I teach little 3-5 year olds all about their numbers, shapes, colors, and letters. They learn how to write, color, draw… listen ๐Ÿ˜‰

We do art.

We paint.

We… color.

We… okay, that’s about it. We paint and color.

I’m not a creative person. Our biggest projects in my room are mixing two colors and sponge painting (and I can’t even take credit for that. The occupational therapist told me about that.)

I can write. I can make up stories (good stories from what people tell me). And that’s about it.

My plastic plants die.

And my school kids laugh at my drawings ๐Ÿ˜‰

BUT… I DO envy you creative folks. Those of you who can draw the Notre Dame cathedral on a napkin and make up a song at the drop of the hat (my sister can do that… the song writing, not the drawing… that I know of ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

If I could have one creative gene besides writing, I’d love to be able to write music. As it is, I write stories and wait for one of them to be made into a major motion picture so someone else can write the score…

Big is Beautiful book cover

Check out Kelly’s new book, BIG is Beautiful:

The seven worst words ever spoken came out of Brittany Gregory’s mom’s mouth at breakfast, “I signed you up for math tutoring.” Sure, she probably needs it (probably nothing, she’ll fail without it), but the thought of having to stay in that school longer than she had to every day makes her sick. It’s not the school’s fault… just the few jerks inside.

Brittany’s tutor is none other than Matt Taylor, senior quarterback– all around hottie. At first, she’s shy around him because, hello, Matt Taylor! But as he shows more and more unexpected kindness toward her, Brittany softens around him.

Unfortunately for Brittany, Matt’s former girlfriend, the beautifully wicked Kendra Moses, has tormented Britt since eighth grade about her weight. In an unusual moment of brains, Kendra realizes Brittany’s initials spell B.I.G.– a hilarious (to the cheerleader) irony since Brittany isn’t the smallest girl at school.

With the Red Ball (Valentine’s Dance) approaching, Brittany has to decide if her growing feelings for Matt are real, or if he’s secretly been playing a part in Kendra’s game all along.

BUY LINKS:

AMAZON:ย  http://www.amazon.com/Big-is-Beautiful-ebook/dp/B00EY5NI2E/

ASTRAEA PRESS: http://astraeapress.com/#!/~/product/category=662245&id=27682184

BARNES AND NOBLE: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/big-is-beautiful-kelly-martin/1116814615?ean=2940148467373



Kelly Martin a southern girl who writes… a lot. She is the author of the bestsellers SAINT SLOAN and THE DECEPTION OF DEVIN MILLER. Her first novel, CROSSING THE DEEP, won the Grace Award for best Young adult novel. By day, she is a teacher. By night, she has her hair in a bun and her fingers on a keyboard. She loves God, is addicted to chocolate, and would rather write than sleep. Kelly loves a good mystery and believes in Sherlock Holmes.ย 
More about Kelly:
You can find her at http://kellymartinbooks.blogspot.com/

She’s also on twitter: https://twitter.com/martieKay

And on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kelly-Martin-Author/136506059763138

4 comments

  1. Oh goodness, Kelly, you really underestimate your skills! I taught lower elementary school for a LONG time, and I can tell you that coming up with ways to keep little ones happy, occupied, and on task takes a lot of creativity. And I’ve watched in amazement as you come up with the most wonderful events for us authors at AP. You can’t tell me that coming up with the Author Fan Fest as well as the many release parties you do doesn’t require creativity! You’re awesome!

    Like

    1. What Patricia said!!

      Like

  2. Well, I don’t know about the Fan page stuff, Kelly, but I do know early childhood teachers from my years as an elementary school principal. You rock it out, girl! You’ve got one of the most important jobs in the country. Second only to parents! And as parents do less, your job becomes even more vital. So thank you. Thank you.
    Your blurb sounds interesting and something probably far too many of us can identify with. Good luck with sales.

    Like

  3. Oh my, but I do agree with the other commenters. Creativity is KEY to teaching. I love your voice in the blurb for your book. Gosh, how old are you??? LOL…Sounds like a great story. Best wishes.

    Like

