Fuel Your Creativity with Stephanie McCall

I love when I open a post from an author and am totally surprised by their creative outlet. Stephanie’s definitely did that. I’ve never had someone write about theatre before.

Writing has always been my first and strongest creative outlet. However, when I’m not writing, I find ways to express myself through singing and theatrical activities. I have loved both these things from an early age, although I haven’t been able to participate in them as much as I would like.

Having a physical disability means that it’s often difficult for me to move around or dance onstage. This can be discouraging at times; for example, even though I participated in my high school and college’s spring productions, I never received leading roles because those involved dancing. Despite this, I was always complimented on my strengths within theater arts, namely the ability to portray characters well and deliver dialogue professionally.

As a grape

After college, I was able to bring my theatrical talent to my church’s fledgling drama team. The photo included in this post shows me in the role of “Char,” a Chardonnay grape just learning from her Father, the Vinedresser, how to reach for the light of the “Son.” This small play was based on the Scripture John 15:5 and its contextual verses. The other women with me played a purple Autumnal grape, a Ruby Red, and a Raisin—so used to Sonlight that she was “wrinkled” and “well-aged.” I have also playe

d roles such as a Christmas tree angel in other church productions. I continue singing when the opportunity presents itself; most notably, my favorites are show tunes from productions such as The Sound of Music, Fiddler on the Roof, and more modern productions such as Wicked.

9781938708169

Check out Stephanie’s book, Fiery Secrets:
Contemporary Christian Romantic Suspense. When it comes to trial, God either spares you from it totally, asks you to walk through it, or delivers you from it by taking you to Heaven. Dr. Grace Taylor, a driven pediatrician and single mom, needs divine intervention if she’s going to heal from the actions of her cheating, abusive ex-husband. But she never thought God would work through Chris Anderson, a tutor at the local learning center whose secrets keep him from opening up to her. Both Grace and Chris have been asked to walk through their trial by fire; they’ve come out alive, but they still smell like smoke. Despite fears and distrust, love begins to take root in their hearts. But their fiery secrets threaten to keep them apart, and blister their souls.

Get your copy at http://www.amazon.com/Fiery-Secrets-Stephanie-McCall/dp/1938708164

2 comments

  1. Hey, Joselyn. Stephanie, congrats on continuing your theatrical endeavors. It’s funny how some things stay with us always. I, too, am an errant thespian from when I was a child making up stories and acting them out. Taught for several years, did the church productions, like you, and now incorporate that love in my writing. Two of my unpubbed books have theatre as a backdrop.
    Unique category for your book, but I can see how that would work. Good luck with sales.

    Like

  2. Stephanie, you remind me of the days when I wanted to be an entertainer…I yearned to be just like Carol Burnett. Alas, (notice the drama in my voice), it was a dream never to be fulfilled. Your book sounds like one for me. I liked the line about walking through fire but still smelling of smoke. Best wishes!

    Like

