Fuel Your Creativity with Elizabeth Maddrey

Today, Elizabeth Maddrey is sharing some of her knitting and crocheting projects. The lace mitts are beautiful.

Over Christmas break my sophomore year of college, I decided I wanted to make my then-boyfriend (now my husband) a blanket. Being from Nevada, the Chicago winters were always a bit more than he was happy with. And I was always up for trying something new. So my mom and I talked and we decided to teach me to knit. It took nearly the entirety of my college break, but I made a lap-sized knit (basket weave – crazy simple pattern) blanket for him. And I pretty much swore off knitting ever again. (Here he is today with the blanket – it’s not gorgeous, but it’s warm. Also fraying on the ends.)Crocheted blanket

But when we were browsing the yarn, I fell in love with it. All the colors and textures…it was like a pillowy heaven. Except that the whole two-handed coordination needed for knitting totally escapes me. So, a few years later I decided to give crochet a try. And I was, if you’ll pardon the pun, hooked.EM-FingerlessGloves

Now I make excuses to crochet. My friends get entirely too many baby blankets. My kids have entirely too many of their own as well. And there have been a few doilies and scarves thrown in as well. It’s relaxing. And it keeps my hands busy when I watch TV (which I often turn into an excuse to watch “just one more show.”)  Most of all it gives me a reason to walk down the aisles of the craft store petting all the skeins of yarn, looking for my next project.

Book Blurb:
“Courage To Change”by Elizabeth Maddrey, is Book Two of the “Grant Us Grace” series.

How much should you change for love?

Courage to Change book cover

When Phil Reid became a Christian and stopped drinking, his hard-partying wife Brandi divorced him. Reeling and betrayed, he becomes convinced Christians should never remarry, and resolves to guard his heart.

Allison Vasak has everything in her life under control, except for one thing. Her heart is irresistibly drawn to fellow attorney and coworker, Phil. Though she knows his history and believes that women should not initiate relationships, she longs to make her feelings known.

As Phil and Allison work closely together to help a pregnant teen, both must re-consider their convictions. But when Brandi discovers Phil’s new relationship, she decides that though she doesn’t want him, no one else can have him. Can Phil and Allison’s love weather the chaos Brandi brings into their lives?

Trade Paperback ISBN 978-1938708138

Ebook ISBN 978-1938708152

http://www.amazon.com/Courage-Change-Elizabeth-Maddrey/dp/193870813X/

3 comments

  1. I admire your handiwork, Elizabeth. I think it’s pretty cute you still have that blanket AND the guy!! Best wishes in your writing career.

    Like

  2. Before my mom became so ill, she crocheted my sister and I, as well as our children, blankets in our favorite colors. I still have mine to this day, as well as both of my sons’ blankets that were made when they were toddlers…best gift ever. 🙂

    I have added your book to my TBR pile on Amazon and Goodreads! 🙂

    Like

  3. Just finished reading Wisdom to Know- was rather entertaining. Her debut novel also sounds really good. Can’t wait to read it Elizabeth!!

    Like

