Fuel Your Creativity with Candi Pullen

I’ve suspected that people who possess an affinity for one type of creativity often are capable of many others. Candi is no exception. Her knot sounds so cute.

 

I am creative at heart.  My father was a commercial artist for the US Air Force for over 20 years.  My mother was an actress and a “crafter.”  She was quite a seamstress, and stage designer in little theater groups everywhere my dad was stationed.  I sat at her side putting the finishing touches on costumes on the eve of many an opening night.  I made both of my wedding gowns, and a daughter-in-law’s wedding gown.

I enjoy making unique things that other people don’t think to do.  I love word-play and allowed that to find its way into my artwork.  One example is a sculpture of a knot.  I took a wire clothes hanger and tied an 8″ piece of it into a loose somewhat heart-shaped knot, then covered it with wax and engraved the texture of rope into the wax.  I made a little sales tag and attached it to the knot with lightweight string, just as they do in boutiques, and wrote upon it, “Love’s Knot For Sale!”

I have a particular fondness for making jewelry.  The artist within me “sees” things and my mind immediately begins to work out how the thought could become the object I see in my mind’s eye.  Sometimes I simply cannot duplicate what I see, but I am able to accomplish a very close facsimile in most cases.  Of all the crafts in which I’ve experimented, the jewelry has by far been my favorite.  Every time I buy a new outfit, my brain starts working on just the right jewelry to accent the new clothes.

Candi Pullen with her jewelry

All of a person’s talents are gifts from our heavenly Father.  So to God be the glory for the wealth of His nature and presence bestowed on every one of His children. Isn’t He awesome?

 

Not Guilty book cover

Book Blurb:

It’s 1974 and Carrie Shepherd, daughter of the minister at Windspree Community Church, is a college senior with plans to be a missionary in Africa.  Raped by a masked assailant, Carrie is so traumatized she tells no one until she realizes she’s pregnant.  Refusing to have an abortion, she must find the courage to face her family, her fiance, her friends and a gossiping, angry congregation which may include her attacker.  Can Carrie find a way to cope with the secrets, silence and shame?

Book info:

“Not Guilty” by Teresa Pollard and Candi Pullen.

ISBN 978-1-938708-06-0 (paperback)
ISBN 978-1-938708-07-7  (ebook)

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1938708067

2 comments

  1. Attractive component to content. I simply stumbled upon your
    web site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact loved account your weblog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing in your augment and even I achievement you access persistently fast.

    Like

  2. Hey there, You’ve done an incredible job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend to
    my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this website.

    Like

