Fuel Your Creativity with Sandra Orchard

I think anyone who can paint has magical talents. I didn’t do too badly with the bathroom, but that’s about where my expertise ends. Sandra Orchard not only paints, she creates! Check out these pictures.

I have to admit that since I started novel writing, the only project I’ve tackled is a flannel Christmas quilt for my granddaughter. But before writing took over my life, I’d try just about every new craft idea that caught my fancy. I especially loved ones that I could finish in a few days… if only I had as much to show for three days of writing!

The most challenging for me were painting projects, but after awhile I got pretty good and had a lot of fun painting on a myriad of surfaces to decorate our home.

First came the idea to create a box to cover the ugly fuse box on our second floor. We cut decorative molding to go under the box so it would look like a shelf and then I painted the vase of roses to sit on it.

Flowers in vase painting

I liked how it turned out so much that I decided to paint the closet door beside it to make the narrow hall appear larger.

painted door

Next I got into painting animals. But I didn’t want to just paint them on a flat surface. So… I painted a hawk on a hawk feather.

Hawk painted on feather

I painted a wolf on a slab of granite.

Wolf painted on granite

I painted a monkey, my son’s favorite animal at the time, on a book box we built to look like a shopping bag.

Monkey book box

Isn’t he cute? My son isn’t into monkeys anymore. They grow up too fast! But… my granddaughter has taken up the monkey craze!

Kitchen canister

Then I decided to do some pieces to brighten up the empty spots above the kitchen

Bear

cupboards. A set of canisters like the one pictured, each with a different woodland animal, and a pair of 3-D bears. I really enjoyed making these cute bears because it involved construction and painting, but…they are so not fun to try to keep clean in a kitchen!

 

 

 

 

 

And Sandra writes too!Deadly Devotion book cover

Check out Deadly Devotion:

Kate knows the truth is out there—but if she’s right, that means a killer is out there too.

Research scientists Kate Adams and Daisy Leacock were on the brink of a breakthrough for treating depression with herbal medicine when Daisy was suddenly found dead. Kate knows that her mentor’s death wasn’t suicide or a careless accident—and she’s determined to do whatever it takes to unearth the truth about what happened to the woman who changed her life.

Former FBI agent Tom Parker is finding it hard to adjust to life back in his hometown of Port Aster. Though an old buddy gave him a job as a detective on the local police force, not everyone approves. Tom’s just trying to keep a low profile, so when Kate Adams demands he reopen the investigation into her friend’s death, he knows his job is at stake. But despite his attraction to her, Tom thinks Kate herself may have something to hide.

Get your copy at:

|Book Depository (free worldwide shipping) |
Chapters/Indigo 
|

Christian Book Distributors

 

