Join us! We have cookies(?)!

I don’t volunteer to bring food for things if I can help it. Most of my cooking and baking ends up suspect.

However, my friends (WS Gager, JQ Rose, and Kelly Tinkham) and I are doing an author talk tonight and we all volunteered to bring cookies or bars. I have a fairly fool-proof recipe that doesn’t come from a box, so I planned to make that.

Yesterday, when I went grocery store, I mentally went through the ingredients so see if there was anything we needed. The only thing that came to mind was chocolate chips. So I bought two bags of dark chocolate chips, since you can never have too much chocolate in the house. The rest of the ingredients are pretty basic baking things that you should normally have in the house.

So feeling pretty good that I was getting the bars made while the kids were at VBS this morning, I turned on the oven to preheat and even remembered to spray the dish with cooking spray. Then I started mixing up the batter.

We were a quarter cup short of brown sugar. Okay, I added a bit more white sugar. Should be fine, right? (I have no idea. They’re both sugar…) Things were going mostly smoothly. The batter was stiff, which isn’t usual when I use butter from the refrigerator instead oleo (another mystery ingredient).  Threw in the eggs, baking powder, then reached for the vanilla.  Picture my jaw dropping open.

There wasn’t any.

I had brandy flavoring (I don’t even know why, but it’s been there for more than a decade) and almond flavoring. Almond seemed like the better choice, so I dripped a little of that in. The dish went into the oven. I remembered to set the timer.

Here’s the end result:

M & M Goody Bars

It looks appetizing…

 

If you’re brave enough to try this, or just want to gape at the horror, drop by the Newaygo Area District Library around 6:30 tonight.

If you would like to replicate these bars here is the recipe:

M & M Goody Bars

1 cup brown sugar

.5 cup white sugar

1 cup oleo

2 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

2.25 cups flour

1 lb. bag of M&M’s (Chocolate chips work too.)

1 cup mini marshmallows

Cream sugars and oleo. Add eggs, then beat in vanilla, baking powder and salt. Slowly add flour. Stir M&M’s and mini marshmallows in by hand. Bake at 350 degrees for 25-35 minutes in a 9×13 pan sprayed with Pam.

One comment

  1. I’m here to report that your cookies were delicious last night. (I even snuck some out of your pan and into my cookie plate. Great with coffee this morning!!!) Thanks for the recipe. I believe it must be an old cherished recipe since one of the ingredients is oleo. Who says oleo anymore?? Isn’t that just margarine now-a-days?? Enjoyed the cookies AND the author talk!

    Like

