Fuel Your Creativity with Catherine Castle

Today, I’m welcoming Catherine Castle who is going to showcase some of her quilts. I used to love quilting, but that was before kids. Some day I’ll use up all those fat quarters stashed in the closet.

 

Thanks, Joselyn, for having me today. It’s nice to share a passion, besides writing, with readers.

I haven’t done much crafting since my book came out this spring, but my favorite craft is quilting. Quilts have been a part of my life since childhood. I slept under handmade quilts I watched my mother make. I still have some of her quilt tops. Mom always incorporated old clothing or leftover fabric in her quilts. She hand pieced her blocks and then machine quilted them. I tend to use new fabric, machine piece, and then hand quilt, because I can’t get all the material to stay rolled up under the machine arm and keep the fabric straight at the same time.

I’m a semi-serious quilter. I say semi-serious because I have more UFOs (unfinished objects) than completed quilts, partly because hand quilting is tedious. I love making the tops and watching the patterns form under my fingertips. I don’t love ripping out mistakes.

Every year my church quilting group, JOY Quilters, sponsors a Mystery Quilt. I rarely miss this fun and frustrating event. Participants have no idea what kind of quilt they are going to make. We’re given a list of materials (solids or prints with light, medium, or dark color values) and instructions on how to cut the material. Then we spend a day putting the pieces together.

image002

Sometimes my mystery quilts turn out nice, like the ones below.

image004

 

 

 

Other times not so nice, like this block. (I’m not sure if I’ll ever like this one.)

 

image006

Regardless of looks, I know whenever they are finished they will all be cherished by my family because Mom made them—just like I cherish the ones my mother made.

 

Check out Catherine’s book, The Nun and the Narc:

Where novice Sister Margaret Mary goes, trouble follows. When she barges into a drug deal the local Mexican drug lord captures her. To escape she must depend on undercover DEA agent Jed Bond. Jed’s attitude toward her is exasperating, but when she finds herself inexplicable attracted to him he becomes more dangerous than the men who have captured them, because he is making her doubt her decision to take her final vows. Escape back to the nunnery is imperative, but life at the convent, if she can still take her final vows, will never be the same.

Nuns shouldn’t look, talk, act, or kiss like Sister Margaret Mary O’Connor—at least that’s what Jed Bond thinks. She hampers his escape plans with her compulsiveness and compassion and in the process makes Jed question his own beliefs. After years of walling up his emotions in an attempt to become the best agent possible, Sister Margaret is crumbling Jed’s defenses and opening his heart. To lure her away from the church would be unforgivable—to lose her unbearable.

 

Buy links: Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/The-Nun-Narc-ebook/dp/B00CHU9DH2/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1368652543&sr=1-1&keywords=The+Nun+and+the+Narc

17 comments

  1. I love doing quilts. Someday I’ll have time to do larger projects again.

    Like

  2. There’s something about watching the block grow under your hands that makes quilting so rewarding. Have you ever displayed pictures of your quilts here?

    Like

    1. It’s been about 5 years since I’ve done any quilts. I did have a scrapbook somewhere.

      Like

  3. I used to quilt too but the stopper for me wasn’t kids, it was writing. Right now, that takes up my spare time. I hope to get back to it someday. I love using the term UFOs! I’ve got more of those in a Tupperware than Area 51.

    Like

    1. LOL! I found a whole shoebox of little triangles that I had trimmed off other projects. I’m saving them because I’m going to sew them together sometime for a scrappy quilt. Sometime. Yeah, that’s it.

      Like

      1. I keep those scraps, too. I’ve been eyeing selvages lately for strip projects. All those scraps drive the hubby crazy. LOL

        Like

      2. Hey, me too! In the meantime, they pass as Barbie sarongs for the girls’ dolls.

        Like

    2. Without a doubt, writing cuts into quilting, or is it the other way around? 🙂 I have a quilting buddy who spurs me on and keeps me quilting.

      Like

  4. […] over at Joselyn Vaughn’s Fuel Your Creativity blog today talking about one of my favorite hobbies–quilting. Come on over and see more photos of […]

    Like

  5. You are a talented quilter AND writer!

    Like

    1. Lauren,
      How sweet of you to say that. Thanks.

      Like

  6. I have made quilts in the past and hope to get back to it ‘someday!’ The quilts I like to do are picture quilts for graduates out of their pictures. These are super easy and fun. Am looking forward to reading your book as I know several nuns personally and think they are interesting people!

    Like

    1. Donna,
      I love picture quilts! I admire the skill of quilters who can create pictures with fabric. That’s an entirely different medium than straight piecing and one I’ve never tackled.

      I love stories about nuns. That’s part of the reason I wrote the book. I hope you enjoy The Nun and the Narc.

      Like

  7. As someone who is utterly craft-challenged, this is so impressive!!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Aven. If you knew how many times I had to rip seams out you might not be as impressed. LoL.

      Like

  8. Mary Ellis · ·

    I don’t sew other than ripped hems and missing buttons, but I love the handmade quilt I bought from two Amish widows in Millersburg. It takes my breath away every time I walk into our bedroom. Your book sounds super, Catherine. I like stories about nuns too. Best regards with this release.

    Like

    1. Mary, I know what you mean about a quilt taking your breath away. I’ve seen several like that and wished I had made them. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      Like

