#sweetsat – Ryan encounters Minnie, will he survive?

It’s time for another Sweet Saturday Samples! Here’s another snippet from Climbing Heartbreak Hill. Ryan’s first meeting with Minnie. Do you think he’ll survive the encounter?

Climbing Heartbreak Hill book coverMinnie’s gaze swung to Ryan, and he suddenly wished he had ducked out the door as soon as she came in. She gave him a
once-­‐‑over thorough enough to read the numbers off his credit card through his wind pants. Her evaluation stopped at his left hand
and her eyes narrowed.
“And I see you’ve met this fine young man.”ʺ She winked at Tara.
Ryan pushed himself to stand and held out his hand. “I’m Ryan. I don’t believe we’ve met.”
“Grant, right? Yvonne’s son. Your mother and I have been friends since she moved over from Glendale. I heard about your knee. Wasn’t there some big race coming up?”
Ryan’s stomach churned just thinking about it. He was going to miss it. Again. “The Boston Marathon. It’s in four weeks.”
“Isn’t it the one with the nasty hill everyone cries about?” Minnie smoothed her hair down.
“Heartbreak Hill,” Ryan murmured more to himself than to the women. It had broken him last time. This year was supposed to be different. He trained to be a contender, but his body had failed him before he’d set foot on the course.
“Well, your mom enjoys having you around.” She clapped her hand on his arm, then squeezed the muscles. “I guess running does something for your arms too.” She raised her eyebrows, and Tara shrugged. Minnie reached for her hip. “Shoot. I left my phone at the exercise class. I’m going to make some phone calls. If Leslie’s at the hospital, I’ll skedaddle. And let you two get back to…” She waved her hand and Ryan wondered what she expected them to get back to besides his tax return. His imagination supplied some ideas, but they weren’t on the agenda.
Tara waved as Minnie bounded through the door.
“My mom’s friends are so weird,” Ryan said when the door whipped shut.

Check out the other Sweet Saturday Samples.

If you liked this snippet, check out my books at http://amazon.com/author/joselynvaughn or at your favorite ebook retailer. Have a great day!

13 comments

  1. I just finished reading this last night. Wonderful story! I hope it does really well, not just for you, but for the One Fund Boston charity.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Patty! I’m hoping to send a big donation.

      Like

  2. Nice excerpt. Can’t imagine running a marathon. I have to say you’ve piqued my curiosity.

    Like

    1. It’s much like writing a novel. You just keep going.

      Like

  3. This is such a wonderful thing for you to do. I hope you have great success with the book.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Elaine! Glad you could stop by.

      Like

  4. jeff7salter · ·

    that’s a great scene, with several interesting characters. Reader wants to know what happens next!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Jeff! What happens next? You’ll have to tune in next week! 🙂

      Like

  5. Great excerpt! I like Minnie. 😉

    Like

  6. jean joachim · ·

    I love the subtle way you portrayed Ryan. I learned much about him both directly and indirectly. The story sounds great. Hope you’ll be posting more in future weeks.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Jean!

      Like

  7. Enjoyed the excerpt. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Jennifer! Glad you could stop by!

      Like

