Fuel Your Creativity with Dawn Turner

My mom and sister can work all kinds of magic with a crochet hook. It sounds like Dawn Turner can as well.

Baby afghan

My great-grandmother in Wisconsin taught me the basics of crochet when I was 11. An elderly neighbor lady in Phoenix taught me more a year or so later. Since then, I’ve taught myself a bunch more, basically taking a learn-as-I-go approach.

Over the years, I’ve utilized commercial patterns, sometimes lamenting over the fact I couldn’t find what I really wanted but settling for “close”. I’ve also often had to correct patterns. I even created my own patterns when I needed them for some things there were no patterns available for when I was still a kid. Much more recently, I created a stuffed dog pattern that I’m not ready to share as I’m not entirely happy with the end result yet.

baby afghan

A baby afghan became my latest search followed by discouragement moment. I could NOT find a pattern to suit my requirements.

I wanted a colorful pattern safe for little fingers. Over the years, my mother has seen little ones get their tiny fingers caught in standard baby afghans, and it annoyed her. The idea of precious, little fingers getting caught up in the stitches of a blanket pretty much gave me nightmares. “What if no one noticed they were tangled up?” I wanted a pattern that wouldn’t have holes large enough for baby fingers to get entangled but would still be colorful and fun.

I think finding teeth in my hens’ mouths would’ve been easier. Then it occurred to me one day – “Why don’t you create your own?” So I did. And it wasn’t even rocket science. My friend’s daughter was as thrilled with the result as I was.

Sometimes we just have to take the knowledge we have, find the courage to step out, and see what happens, possibly learn something new in the process.

If you would like a copy of Dawn’s pattern, she is willing to share! Send her an email at dm_turner @ yahoo . com.

Check out Truth the first book in the Donovan Legacy Series:

Truth book cover

CAN A MAN TAKE YOU SERIOUSLY AS AN ADULT WHEN HE’S WITNESSED ALL OF THE AWKWARD PHASES OF YOUR LIFE?

After a serious injury wrecks her plans for a place on the Olympic Equestrian Team, professional rider Missy Donovan marries security consultant Aaron Everett, a man she’s known her entire life and l oved since her teens. Only one problem – he doesn’t love her in return.

Aaron has loved Missy since she was sixteen years old, but she’s never expressed interest in him “that way”. Despite promptings to tell her the truth, he can’t bring himself to tell his wife that he’s in love with her. Will she ever see him as more than the “big brother” who happened to grow up next door?

Will they ever find the courage to tell each other the truth?

 Get your copy at:

http://everythingingodstime.blogspot.com/p/books-donovan-legacy-series.html

