The Little One’s Clothes

My children have always been very particular about what they wear. At eighteen months, the twins would throw temper tantrums and rip off their clothes if I attempted to wrestle them into something they didn’t like. Sadly, there were many cute outfits that were worn for less than a minute.

The Little One has taken a bit longer to grow into this finickiness, but, alas, it has reared it’s ugly head. For awhile, it was simply wanting to wear shirts and pants with hearts on them. She had multiple options for this, including a Sunday dress, so we could work with that. (Her older sister would wear all stripes–striped pants, striped shirt, striped socks, preferably in non-coordinating colors.) Unfortunately her condition has progressed. She prefers one pair of pjs and no other pair out of the dozen she has will do. That would be okay — it saves laundry — but she doesn’t want to take them off at appropriate times. And by that I mean in any place that we will find the pjs again before bedtime. She’ll get dressed partially in the living room, partially in the dining room, and partially in the entry way (because we are trying to get everyone else to school in time).

She had also become particular about her shirts or shirt. Her favorite is pink with a ruffle or skirt around the bottom and a monkey on the front (go figure.). She also has a tendency to use her sleeves as napkins, so wearing the shirt more than one day between laundry days is not preferable.

Don’t even get me started on underwear (don’t ever want to change them) and socks (changes them fifteen times a day).

Maybe someday this will work in my favor. Right now it does save a bit of laundry. I suppose a mother’s and daughter’s fashion choices never jive. But I do have a sure-fire way to get my oldest out of bed in the morning. Just threaten to pick out her clothes for her.

7 comments

  1. There were days when I wanted a button I could wear that said, “My child dressed herself.” Perhaps I should start making those as a sideline. I think you hit the nail on the head with the line about mother/daughter choices never jiving. 🙂

    Like

    1. I would so buy that button and the girls would wear it every single day.

      Like

  2. Oh yeah, wait til the teens with the demand for the “in-style” trends of the day. And how about tattoos and nose rings and…..it goes on and on. !! Pick your battles, moms!

    Like

    1. I don’t even want to think about nose rings and tattooed. :-/

      Like

  3. Janet’s right, Joselyn. Pick your battles. LOL I made big deal about no pierced earrings until older daughter turned 13. I spent all my cash on that one, and realized I should have given on the small gold loops in favor of no makeup until high school. You can only fight so many things at once. But I’m here to tell you, in the end they become good friends and that’s really cool. It was years before anyone wanted to wear my clothes. My younger daughter embarrassed her older sister with her choices in clothes. We called her “Miss mis-match.” Fortunately, she grew out of that. LOL Cute post, Joselyn.

    Like

    1. I don’t care too much what they wear because they are dressing themselves. As long as it’s weather and occasion appropriate, I’m good.

      Like

  4. […] For some reason I decided my children needed more summer pajamas, probably because the Little One chose to wear footie-pajamas yesterday even though it was 85 degrees. (She did have other options, but we’ve discussed her clothing preferences before.) […]

    Like

