Fuel Your Creativity with Lynn Spangler

Do you collect jewelry? I tend to find a couple things I like and then wear them all the time. Lynn creates her own jewelry.

I would like the thank Joselyn for having me on her blog today.

Lynn Spangler's earrings

In my spare time, I like to read but I also like to make beaded jewelry. Earrings are a favorite of mine to make. I love being able to match my jewelry to any outfit that I choose to wear. My jewelry is simplistic in design. I like to use both glass beads as well as semi-precious beads such as amethyst and onyx.

The process of making jewelry can be tedious but I find it relaxing. Taking an idea from my mind and making into wearable art is very gratifying. From start to finish, a pair of earrings can take any where from five minutes to a half hour to make. The tools of my trade are wire cutters and jeweler’s pliers. They vary from traditional pliers because they are rounded making it easy to turn a loop in a headpin which resembles a pin used in sewing except for the lack of a pointed end.

I also make bracelets and some pendants as well. Earrings are by far my favorite though.

Thank you, Joselyn, for allowing me to share a little about my love of jewelry making.

Here’s more about Lynn’s book, Whiskey Whispers of the Past:

Kendra thought her life was her store; Chance thought his revolved around his addiction. What if they’re both wrong?

Looking for a new start, Chance Daniels moves from hectic, big city living to a small town in South Central Pennsylvania. He decides opening his own music store on Main Street will help him beat the demons of his alcoholism. He discovers the beautiful business owner from across the street may be the lift he needs to beat his addiction. But little does he know that parts of his past unbeknownst to him are about to come to light. Chance receives strange objects in the mail and the woman he falls in love with is nearly run down by a crazed driver.

Whiskey Whispers of the Past book cover

Kendra Strafford, owner of Strafford’s Candle Creations, finds herself drawn to the tall, handsome man from Los Angeles after starting a standing weekday coffee date with him. She can’t help but fall in love with him, despite his addiction and the strange happenings that seem to surround him.  Her own brush with death only draws her closer to Chance.

Was her accident just an accident or was it part of a more devious scheme arising from Chance’s hidden past and will they overcome the bizarre occurrences besieging them to explore their developing love?

Get your copy at:

Amazon

Astraea Press

Barnes and Noble

11 comments

  1. Thank you for hosting me today.

    Like

    1. You’re welcome! Glad you could stop by and chat with us!

      Like

  2. Pretty earrings! I don’t wear a lot of jewelry, but when I do, I’m attracted to things that are just a bit different from what everyone else is wearing. Making your own is a great way to ensure that! And I’m sure you’re accessorizing your characters as you work.

    Like

  3. I make my own jewelry too! So fun. Although, I haven’t done it in a while. I’ll have to pull out the 100 boxes of beads I have. 🙂 I love being able to say, “I made that.” when someone asks me where I got it.

    Like

    1. As a matter of fact, the second book takes place in a jewelry store 😉

      Like

    2. I have so many small boxes of beads that it’s hard to keep track of all the different colors and whether they are semi-precious or glass.

      Like

  4. Very pretty Jewelry! I’ll have to hit you up when I’m looking for a gift for someone! 🙂

    Like

  5. Those are gorgeous! I soo wish I had that kind of talent!

    Like

  6. Thanks Lisa and Wendy. It is very fun and easy to do. You’d be surprised just how easy it is. As long as you have patience. It can be time consuming but it’s so worth it.

    Like

  7. Lynn, nice jewelry! I’ve dabbled in making some jewlery and created a wedding necklace and earrings for my daughter from her grandmothers’s pearl and swarski crystals. Your book sounds interesting too. Love that you are using your hobby in your writing.

    Like

  8. “Tedious” is the word that stuck with me, Lynn. LOL You have more patience than I. The book premise is intriguing. I’ll check it out.

    Like

