Fuel Your Creativity with Lisa Orchard and Workshop Planning

Please welcome Lisa Orchard, a fellow West Michigan author, as she shares how much she enjoys arranging workshops about writing.

Hello Everyone! I hope all is well with you! My name is Lisa Orchard and I’m the Young Adult Author of the Super Spies Mystery/Thriller Series. I’m a guest of Joselyn’s today and I’m here to share some of my other creative talents with you.

I wish I could tell you I sew or I have great artistic talent, but I can’t. What I’m really good at is event planning. I’m very good at seeing connections and bringing people together for a common cause.  An example of this would be the writing workshops that I conduct for young aspiring writers.

I really enjoy putting these workshops together. The girls remind me of myself at that age, fresh and eager to learn.  They are full of promise. It’s great to connect with these girls and see what they like to read and write about.   They’re also very knowledgeable and talented. Some of them are more confident than others in the beginning, but it’s a real thrill to see their confidence grow with the right guidance and praise.

I’ve done workshops for just a generic “How to write a Book” to “The Elements of Writing a Mystery.” For older authors I’ve done workshops on “Marketing your Book via Social Media.”

Sharing my knowledge and offering my support to these newbie writers is something that I take great pleasure in. I wish someone would have encouraged me when I was that age and maybe it wouldn’t have taken me so long to chase my dream.

I enjoy these workshops for the eager minds that sign up. Sometimes I feel that I’ve missed my calling in life. I should have been a teacher. I should have taught English. It was my favorite subject and it was easy for me. But it was not meant to be. 🙂 I’ll have to be content with writing my stories and conducting my workshops and hopefully inspiring young writers to chase their dreams too.

Below you’ll find the covers and buylinks to my books. You’ll also find my social media sites too. 🙂

Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer book cover“The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer”

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/Super-Spies-Lady-Killer-ebook/dp/B007JZH61K

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-super-spies-and-the-cat-lady-killer-lisa-orchard/1109518725?ean=2940014338202

“The Super Spies and the High School Bomber”Super Spies and the High School Bomber book cover

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/Super-Spies-School-Bomber-ebook/dp/B008P8O7OY

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-super-spies-and-the-high-school-bomber-lisa-orchard/1112263058?ean=2940014992244

You can find me at these social media sites:

Website:  http://www.lisaorchard.com/

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lisa-Orchard/328536613877060?ref=hl

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/lisaorchard1

16 comments

  1. Thanks Joselyn for having me as a guest today. 🙂

    Like

    1. You’re welcome! Hope you are having a great day!

      Like

  2. Inspiring young people to enjoy and expand their writing, is to me, a special gift. I enjoyed reading your post.

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by Sherry! I appreciate your kind words! 🙂

      Like

  3. You know, Lisa, you should write a non-fiction book with all your ‘work-shop’ info included. I’m amazed at your many talents! Kudos and best wishes for all bestsellers! Cheers!

    Like

    1. That’s not a bad idea! Thanks for stopping by Sharon! I appreciate your support! 🙂

      Like

  4. Lisa: I should have know this was you talent because you have helped me get into some great author events. You definitely should capitalize on it. Nice post.
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager on Writing

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by Wendy! I appreciate your kind words and I’m glad you were able to participate in some of the events I’ve put together! There’s more to come! 🙂

      Like

  5. It’s so good that you and the Super Spies are good strong role models for teen girls. They need the help! Like Wendy said, I’ve had the benefit of some of your arranging, and I appreciate it! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by Tess! I appreciate your kind words! I say we authors band together and put Grand Rapids on the map as a Literary Community! 🙂

      Like

  6. Inspiring post, Lisa. Any time spent encouraging and showing genuine interest in young people is worthwhile and commendable. Thanks for sharing your time and knowledge with them. It affects all of us in the future.

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by Cordelia! I appreciate your support and kind words! 🙂

      Like

  7. Yes, Lisa. You have added another one to your list. ME! You have already inspired me to reach out to more people. You are a great influence. I may have to talk to you about workshops. I have several coming up this summer.

    Thank you for all you do!

    Like

    1. Thanks Sara! We can chat anytime about workshops! I’d love to hear some of your ideas as well! 🙂 I appreciate your support and kind words! 🙂

      Like

  8. Lisa, so happy to learn about your books and your work with aspiring young writers! I too wish there had been someone like you to mentor me when I was a kid. Finally I am living my dream to be a writer too.

    Like

  9. Thanks for stopping by J.Q. Rose! 🙂 I’m glad to hear you’re living your dream too! 🙂

    Like

