Fuel your Creativity with Zanna Mackenzie

Is digging in the dirt something you can’t wait to do in the spring? I love having pretty flowers, but I don’t find gardening therapeutic. Zanna Mackenzie is different. Gardening is in her genes…

gardening boots

It must have been about ten years ago when I first ventured into the world of grow your own vegetables. With childhood memories of the sweet smell of ripe tomatoes in my granddad’s greenhouse and picking and shelling peas in his garden, I guess the grow your own gene had always been in me, it had just lay dormant for a good few years!

I started with a tomato plant purchased from a local garden centre and lovingly tended to it in a grow bag of compost in a sheltered spot behind the garage, then added a courgette plant and some herbs – then I was hooked. The grow bag and few pots expanded to take over the whole suntrap area behind the garage; a small plastic ‘greenhouse’ was soon added. The next year I had a bigger plastic greenhouse and progressed on from pots to dig out part of the lawn to create a small but proper vegetable plot. Then another bigger plastic greenhouse arrived and took over the spot behind the garage, forcing my veg plot to move to the end of the garden and quadruple in size in the process. Then came a present from my husband in the shape of a proper 8ft by 6ft greenhouse – now I could

grow peppers and aubergines as well as tomatoes and cucumbers and also start off seeds for veg, annual flowers and bedding plants as well.

Last year the weather was so bad that I struggled to grow much at all – it was cold, we had record breaking amounts of rain all summer and the only things that thrived in the garden were the dreaded slugs which soon munched up any tiny lettuce leaves that had somehow managed to germinate in the dismal conditions.

Nowadays the garden is ‘my escape’ – it’s the first place I head to when I need a break from the computer and a spot of fresh air. It’s the place I love to potter in and relax at the end of the day, right through spring, summer and early autumn.

This year I’m armed with all my packets of seeds, a heated propagator and a vegetable plot that I hope is puppy proof as we have recently become home to little Cassie, a black Labrador, 10 weeks hold and a complete terror!


Check out Zanna’s latest book:
Wish me look – I hope I manage to grow some decent vegetables and flowers this summer…

Many thanks for hosting me on your blog today!

My novel, published by Astraea Press, is called The Love Programme, here’s the details:

TheLoveProgramme 500x750 (2)

Thanks to an embarrassing incident involving a wedding and her ex-boyfriend Marcus, Lucy has to leave her home town in a hurry and needs a place to escape to for a while.

Best friend Fiona is convinced now would be a good time for Lucy to get herself a new life with some potential for romance thrown in. Fate seems to agree when Lucy is given the once-in-a-lifetime chance to star in a TV show and be a contestant on The Love Programme – two weeks of luxury living on a grand Highland estate coupled with, she hopes, fun and romance in wildest Scotland.

When Lucy meets Paul – the young, handsome owner of the Highland estate – she thinks she may have found the love of her life but who is the mysterious Hannah and what part does she play in his life? When she discovers that Marcus is planning to follow her to Scotland to win her back Lucy has some serious soul searching to do. Does she have a future with Paul, with Marcus or is she yet to find the man of her dreams?

The Love Programme can be downloaded now on Amazon

Amazon UK:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=zanna+mackenzie

Amazon USA:

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=zanna+mackenzie

 

3 comments

  1. I really admire people who have the patience to grow things. I tend to avoid going outdoors, except to get from one place to another, and I dislike flying insects and the other critters that tend to visit gardens. So I support our local gardeners by going to Farmers Markets. Good luck with this year’s effort. And congratulations on your recent release!

    Like

  2. Thank you Patricia, much appreciated!

    Like

  3. Zanna: I love to garden too but my hubby keeps talking less instead of more but I’ve never had a green house. In Michigan, the growing season can be short or long, only mother nature knows for sure.
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager on Writing

    Like

