Cooking Adventure: Cheesecake

My husband doesn’t like cake. (I know, weird, right?)  So when the kids asked him what kind of birthday cake he wanted, he said cheesecake.

Usually if there is cheesecake to be made in the Vaughn household, he makes it, but since it was his birthday, I decided to give it a whirl. I’ve tried the cheater recipe and that wasn’t successful, so I’m not sure what I was expecting.

I searched allrecipes.com for a recipe that seemed simple and only required the number of cream cheese bars in my possession. I found one with a graham cracker crust, but I had purchased oreos, so I fudged the recipe and used those for the crust. Given my history with cooking substitutions, I would have been better off dragging the kids to the store and buying graham crackers or a cheesecake.

Things seemed to be going smoothly, so I tried another addition. I sprinkled chocolate chips into the cheesecake batter, then poured it into the pan. I popped it in the oven and wandered off to do something else while it baked.

Halfway through I came into the kitchen to check on the cake and noticed it was kind of hazy. Hmm. I looked in the oven and there was a lovely black puddle on the bottom. On the plus side, the cake looked perfect.

The cake continued to look fantastic, the haze thickened. The recipe said to turn the oven off and leave the cake in it for several hours to prevent cracking. I could do that. When I turned off the oven, the cake still looked great. I imagined how wonderful it would taste.

Within an hour, it looked like this:

The final product

It cracked like the San Andreas Fault.

We sang happy birthday and cut the cake. I could barely chop through the crust. Then I realized that the chocolate chips had sunk to the bottom instead of being sprinkled thoughout.

On the plus side, the cake tasted fantastic and we got to try the self-cleaning feature on our oven.

4 comments

  1. If it tasted good, that’s all that matters. And self-cleaning ovens are a godsend. Happy birthday, Mr. Vaughn! 🙂

    Like

  2. Ha! I feel your pain. They say it cracks due to over-beating. I soften the cream cheese in the microwave. AND if you serve it to guests, just cover it with whipped cream and they’ll never know. 🙂

    Like

    1. That is probably exactly what I did. The cream cheese was really chunky. I’ll have to remember that for next time.

      Like

  3. jeff7salter · ·

    love the line about the oven cleaning cycle.

    Like

