Idiosyncrasies of an old house

Parts of our house are more then a hundred years old. We have slanting floors, doors that don’t shut, and windows that don’t open.

I’ve come to realize how much has changed since our house was first built. The original structure was constructed before electricity. Most of the wiring on the first floor is the black fabric-covered stuff with the ceramic knobs. When the dishwasher and microwave are running at the same time, the breaker trips. My husband had some fun in the garage when the circuit for the lights would trip, but the one for the saw kept working. Luckily, he survived that project with all his fingers. Yikes.

In my sewing room, there is one overhead light. I was going to move my table and plug another light in. Then I discovered, there were only two outlets in the room. I’m concerned using a power strip because something electrical caused my previous sewing machine’s haunting.  During the day, the lack of light isn’t a problem. But at night, it’s a different story, especially when working on black fabric. The light is always behind me, so I cast a shadow over my work. (Or over the pictures I’m trying to take for the blog.)

My husband wants to remodel the room, add a bathroom, and upgrade the electrical. While adding outlets would be great, I keep asking when he is going to win the lottery.

7 comments

  1. Winning the lottery would help. In the meantime, you can hope your next novel is a blockbuster. But seriously, rewiring the house will be a great investment, especially since your three little ones will someday become three teenagers all wanting to plug in their hair dryers, laptops and other toys. Good luck!

    Like

    1. I love for my next novel to be a bestseller. Now how to do that?

      Like

  2. Joselyn,

    Keep writing. Don’t give up–even if your next novel does not become a bestseller. Getting readers to buy books is tough work.

    But I hope you do write a bestseller!

    When hubby and I went house hunting (a long time ago), I longed for an old house. But hubby convinced me that it would take a lot of time and money to fix up any of the old houses we looked at.

    The house we bought was seventeen years old at the time we bought it. We still had stuff to fix–and have continued to fix things over the years. Houses are a lot of work and eat up a lot of money.

    And then there’s taxes. :^(

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for the encouragement! Writing is tough and selling is worse, but creating stories is so much fun.

      Like

  3. I hear you on old houses–our first was 150 years old, our second over 80. I’m tired of gravity heat in the upstairs and no closets. Next house? Less than 40! But then I look at pictures and I still find myself drawn to the character of old houses–the wood floors, the molding, the high ceilings. There should be a support group…

    Like

    1. I know. What fun would it be if all my floors were level? The kids wouldn’t have the hill to run up and down in the hallway.

      Like

      1. Exactly. If I dropped something round in my old kitchen, I knew exactly which corner to run to to catch it.

        Like

