Fancy Schmancy Cardigan

I’m always freezing. It’s seventy out today and I’m wearing a hoodie. (This could be due to the wonderful stuffy nose I woke up with this morning too. blech.)

So I like to have a lot of cardigans in my closet. Lately I haven’t been able to find any that I like. They’re too small, too big or have too many things all over the front. Then I had an idea. I’d made my own.

I started with a men’s large long sleeve shirt. This one has a texture like long underwear.

The Before picture

The before picture – a rather plain oatmeal colored shirt.

I took the sides and sleeves in a bit and chopped an inch or two off the bottom. When I put it on, I realized I didn’t have to take quite so much out of the sides, but it still works. Since I wanted it to be a little different, I cut the opening on the left side instead of the center. Then, I cut off the crew neck collar and made the neck opening asymmetrical. I took the piece I cut off the bottom and gathered it, then sewed it around the neckline. I used a single button as a closure.

So far, I’m quite happy with how it turned out. I haven’t decided whether to cut the cuffs off the sleeves. The day I wore it, I tucked them under because the sleeves are bit long. I fear if I cut them off, I won’t like the edge I end up with.

The After Picture

The After Picture – ruffled color and the works

 

5 comments

  1. I think you did a fabulous job! You are crafty! 😉

    Like

    1. Thank you! It’s always fun when the project turns out the way you hoped.

      Like

  2. Love it! I’ll bet you look fancy schmancy wearing it, too!

    Like

  3. Who knew a plain shirt could turn into something so stylish and cute? You have a great imagination and sewing skills.

    Like

