Kick off to Summer Blog Hop

My critique group and I are kicking off our summer in a big way and inviting you to join us.

Kick Off to Summer

As summer approaches, I look forward to warm weather, wearing shorts and getting a bit of a tan.

Sunflower

I also look forward to not having to remind the kids that they need hats, coats and mittens before they go outside.

mittens

Our summer kicks off with a bunch of yard work. (And sometimes, the only yard stuff I do all summer) We get the flowers in, the landscape barked and various plants moved to ‘better’ locations.

flowers1spiderwort

roses

This rose bush bloomed like crazy this year. I think because we threatened to take it out.Flower bed oneFlower Bed two

I also look forward to a summer filled with reading. Why I think I will have more time to read in the summer, I don’t know. Here are a few of the titles on my summer reading list:

Foodies Rush In by Tanya Eby

A Night Like This by Julia Quinn

Cue Me In by Nell Dixon

Grin & Barrett by Ruth Hartman

Her Kind of Man by Elaine Cantrell

And as many of the books on my TBR pile as I can get through.

I’d also like to do some sewing projects. I recently purchased two books of projects that only require one yard of fabric. With a bit of luck, I’ll be able to try out a few of these. This is one of my more recent projects.

e-reader coversInside of ereader covers

They are covers for an e-reader. They fit fine on my Kindle Fire and on Tess Grant’s regular Kindle.

GIVEAWAY!! So if your ereader is in the 5″ x 7.5″ size range and you would like to win one of these readers, leave a comment to be entered in the drawing.

Then hop on to the other blogs in the hop for more great giveaways.

Tess Grant – http://tessgrant.wordpress.com/

J.Q. Rose – http://jqroseauthor.blogspot.com/

W.S. Gager – http://wsgager.blogspot.com/

19 comments

  1. What great photos. Our roses are blooming very well this year too. I hope you do get time to enjoy your TBR list and have a fantastic summer! Take time to smell the roses,,,!!

    Like

  2. Thanks I think it must be a good year for roses. I’ve seen a lot of nice plants this spring.

    Like

  3. I love those reader covers! They are so darn cute.

    Like

    1. Thanks, T!

      Like

  4. Those are very cute covers! I looked at some Kindle covers at Wal-mart and couldn’t believe the cost! These are lovely though and much more personal.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Taryn! I have been using my prototype with my Kindle Fire and like it a lot. It’s much easier to hold on to.

      Like

  5. No one told me I could just post photos of my landscaping for the blog! Oh, wait, I don’t have any landscaping! That isn’t quite true. Spent Memorial Day moving dirt into my new flower area (and paying for it for the next week) but it isn’t quite looking beautiful yet. More sunshine and rain needed.
    Great idea Joselyn for this lovely hop! Too much fun!
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager on Writing

    Like

    1. Well, you should have asked. 🙂

      Like

  6. Hey, I posted a photo of our veggies…no flowers though.

    Like

  7. The covers are cute, but your yard is amazing. I love your flowers. I think I’ll go and threaten my roses. I’m not pleased with them!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Elaine. My husband did a lot of work on it. Of course, now he’s digging it all up to put sprinklers in. And yes, he dug through my tulips. At least now, I have so many he can’t destroy them all in one swoop.

      Like

  8. What a fun post and what a great giveaway! My e-reader is just the right size!

    Like

    1. Great! They are so much fun to make!

      Like

  9. I’m still jealous you have flowers! I’m also hawking an anthology that is free this weekend called The Corner Cafe – tasty treats. I have a short story in it. The book is an experiement to see if an anthology will help sell books. We all are keeping track of stats, etc. If you want to look at some different authors, check this out on Saturday and Sunday. http://www.amzn.to/CornerCafe
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager on Writing

    Like

    1. I hope it does help. It sounds cute. Going to get my copy now. 🙂

      Like

  10. Nice summer plans! I want to read, travel, read, write, read, sew, and read. Your covers are cute, but a little small for my ipad. Maybe if I win I could just get the directions so I can make my own cover?

    Like

  11. You bet, Patty. I’m sure you only have to adjust the measurements. It only takes about two hours with toddlers, so you should be able to whip one up in no time. 🙂

    Like

  12. I love the covers, you are so talented, and your flowers are very nice. Mother Nature hates me and with the lack of rain my flowers are crying. :} Great post, Thanks for sharing
    Lynda

    Like

  13. Congratulations to the winners, Conda Douglas and Taryn Raye! I’ll be emailing you shortly with the details. Thank you to everyone who participated in the hop with us!

    Like

