100-266-90 MPH

It seems like the kids get stuck on something and that’s all we hear about until something else replaces it.

My son has become obsessed with race cars and specifically his matchbox cars and which one is the fastest. He seems to think that the speed of the car has something to do with the numbers painted on them. He is constantly asking what number is on the car — although he is starting to figure these how himself, but more complex numbers like 26 or 43 still throw him–and the name of the car. If I’m lucky the make and model is printed on the bottom, otherwise I can probably name less than fifty percent of his collection. Then he will ask which is faster, which is not my area of expertise. I could tell him that a Corvette is faster than a station wagon, but beyond that it gets a little dicey. I also never know whether the question is in reference to the actual car or to how fast this car will go down his track. If the second is the case, the station wagon could be faster because it has only been kicked around the floor since Christmas while the Corvette has been around much longer.

Then he estimates the top speed of the car. This number could be anywhere from ten to twenty miles per hour (numbers that he has a grasp of and thinks are really big) to one hundred-two-sixty-six-ninety  (which is moderately fast).

My best answer for anything other than reading the bottom of the vehicle is “I don’t know, you’ll have to ask your dad.” My son is concerned enough about this to ask Dad as soon as he comes through the door.

One comment

  1. Love it! I’m sure this system will turn around eventually when he comes to the really tough questions about life. Then Dad’s answer will be, “Ask your mother.”

    Like

