Sweet Saturday Samples

Here is another snippet from my work in progress, Heartbreak Hill:

“Let me help you with that.” She hurried over to the door and kicked the stopper down to hold it open while she relieved him off the fistful of paper. A quick scan of the parking lot told her Mark’s Suburban hadn’t entered the lot yet. “Do you have an appointment?”

“Your sign said walk-ins were welcome.” His voice had a pleasant timbre. Tara didn’t miss the once-over he gave her. She was used to those. It was one of the side-effects of having breast implants not written in the tri-fold brochure from the plastic surgeon: every male and one-in-three females will have to stare at your chest. At times, Tara wanted to wear a name-tag that said under her name ‘and yes, they are fake.’

“Yes, walkins are always welcome. We have a small break in the rush, right now, so why don’t you have a seat by my desk?” Tara released the door and made her way around her desk.

The man put the two crutches together and gingerly lowered himself into the seat. He kept his left leg extended and Tara could see the outline of a brace around his knee through his wind pants. She dropped the pile of receipts into the middle of her desk and opened a new client file on her computer.

“Have you been here before?” When he answered in the negative, Tara said, “Okay. Then we’ll need to go through the basics first. I’ll need all your vital stats.”

“Excuse me?”

“Name, address, phone number, etc.”

“Oh, I thought you meant age, weight, heart rate and blood pressure. Guess I’ve been to too many doctors lately. Ryan Grant.” He rattled off an address she recognized as one of the Ladies’ Night Out members. Had Yvonne been holding out on her? The last names matched so he must be family.

“Are you new in town then?” she asked as she typed the previous information into his record.

“At least until my knee heals.” He rubbed the thigh muscle on the injured leg. “Had to move back in with my mom for a while. How embarrassing is that?” He flashed a grin that made Tara’s stomach swirl.

“Not embarrassing at all.” Considering she’d done the same two years ago.

You can also purchase my books at AmazonBarnes and NobleAstraea Press,All Romance eBooksBookstrand and Smashwords.

Return to Sweet Saturday Samples for more great excerpts.

7 comments

  1. Interesting. You have me curious. 🙂

    Like

  2. I really enjoyed this first-encounter scene. You’ve done a great job of showing that first little hint of attraction. I also like that they’ve both had to move back in with their parents. That’s a reality these days, isn’t it? It’s also something they’ll have in common as they get to know each other–and I assume that will happen!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Sandra! Tara and Ryan are going to find out they have a lot of experiences in common.

      Like

  3. Nice first meeting! Looking forward to finding out what happened to his leg.

    Like

  4. Thank you for your positive feedback on my Sweet Saturday Sample post. I appreciate it.

    Like

  5. Getting curious about this latest one on crutches

    Like

  6. Love the way you weave so much information into this sample and leave me with a bunch of questions I want to get answers for. 🙂

    Like

