Thursday Snippets – PW Creighton

Today, PW Creighton, fellow Astraea author,  is sharing an excerpt from his book, Nightfall.

Blurb:

Three years after everyone important to Connor Maitland was murdered by a fanatical cult he is still attempting to put his life back together. Accompanied by his ex-girlfriend and business partner, Alison Herne, he is making a living as a jack-of-all-trades running a security company, sailing charters, and even photographing weddings out of Dolliber Cove, Massachusetts. Connor’s world is finally coming back together until they find one of Alison’s ghost hunter friends murdered.

When a childhood love he thought was dead, appears on his doorstep during their investigation, Connor is forced to confront memories he convinced himself were the delusions of a man deep into grief. They are being stalked by a mysterious man who appears to know far too many of their secrets. After Alison is almost killed confronting her occult past, it is impossible for Connor to deny the connection between the cases. Someone is attempting to end Connor’s life and the lives of all those who surround him.

The crazed rantings of the murderous cult may be the key to his survival.

 

Excerpt:

 

I moved down the cluttered hallway, carefully picking my way through broken furniture. Entering the next room, I found it

was filled with debris but it contained chairs and a bench. Scanning the room yielded only more trash and served to kick up more

memories that deserved to be buried. The first time I was in an abandoned building, it was in high school with the girls.

“Alison.” I breathed deeply, trying to shake away the old memories. I could have sworn I saw two blue dots at the end of the

hall.

“Yep,” she replied. “How’re you faring?”

“Just some really bad vibes from this area.” I took in another breath and let it out slowly. “I could swear, I thought I saw

something. How’s the snipe hunt?”

“Still no snipes.” She paused, leaving me in silence again.

“We’ll meet up in a few minutes and no, I’m not doing anything

stupid either.” A loud crunch came through with her words.

“What was that?” I blinked at the dust finding its way into

my eyes.

“Ah, just some boards in the way. Nothing to be concerned with.” I could imagine what her idea of “no trouble” was. As long

as I’d known her, her definition didn’t match with what the rest of the world thought. I walked toward the next doorway, creaking

across the dust-­‐‑caked floorboards.

“Are you sure? Watch for elevators.”

“Nah, it’s nothing. So, they were actually here but left their stuff?”

“I know,” I replied. “What would make an investigator forget their tech?”

It was too close to the way we’d found Tabitha. I stepped into the next doorway. The room was littered with trash and junk food still in packages.

No matter how prepared you are, none of it means anything if you’re distracted. In the corner of the room was a worn, stained

mattress with a figure on it. As the light cast over the figure’s face, it bolted upright, charged the doorway, and slammed into me.

Get your copy at:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Nightfall-ebook/dp/B0073WS3JI/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1328103987&sr=1-1-catcorr

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/books/1108522638?ean=2940014077545&itm=1&usri=pw+creighton+nightfall

3 comments

  1. This sounds like my kind of book! I’m definitely putting it on my TBR list!! 🙂

    Like

  2. Wow, I didn’t expect that last line. Great.

    Like

  3. PW Creigthon · ·

    Thanks for having me over Joselyn! Thank you for the praise Lisa and Elaine!

    Like

