It could have been worse

Three weeks ago, we were preparing for our vacation. The kids were all excited about flying down to see Grandpa and Grandma in just two days. It would be the first flight that they would remember. I was frantically figuring out what we needed to pack, what we could buy when we were there, whether we needed to put any liquids in special quart plastic bags,  wondering how bad security was going to be with three little kids and how we were going to entertain them for the three hours of the flight.

Then we got a phone call from Grandpa and Grandma. They had heard our airline was canceling flights. My first thought was ‘no way, why would they cancel our flight?’ Well, the airline was cancelling all their flights. I guess you have to do that when you can’t pay for fuel.

So what were we going to do? We already had the vacation time scheduled, so we decided to drive. The trip to Florida takes about 22 hours without kids. With kids, how long would it be? And what would we do about the potty? My daughter will barely go on our potty, let alone some disgusting truck stop one. However, I didn’t have to worry about how much to pack because we now had plenty of room in our Expedition.

The kids turned out to be great travelers. We did break out the DVD player in the truck. (We’ve had the truck two years and this was the first time we used it.) My son did awesome with the potty breaks. The girls not so much, but it could have been much worse.

The airline could have cancelled our flight after we got there and we would have had to figure out how to get home. We could have lost our money. (Pay for travel plans with a credit card. You have some protection in a situation like this.)

6 comments

  1. I’m so glad your vacation worked out! Traveling with little ones is difficult, but it sounds like you had everything under control.

    Like

    1. It was easier driving. It was nice not to have to worry about how much to pack. Or have to buy a lot of stuff when we got there.

      Like

  2. We’ve driven down to Florida for 24 years, starting when our youngest was 5. Hubby’s parents had moved there. I can’t say every trip was a breeze, but our daughters learned to deal with it. Fortunately, they could all read in the car. :^)

    Like

    1. Yes, I think it will go even smoother when they can entertain themselves a bit more. My son was quite content to stare out the window though.

      Like

  3. I’m glad your trip went well. I bet your great attitude helped to make the trip go smoothly.

    Like

  4. You’re always so calm and together…that helps. I’m not a good traveler in the car…after about 10 hours, I’m ready to spontaneously combust!

    Like

