Sweet Saturday Sample

Here is another sample from Heartbreak Hill:

Leslie’s steps wavered until she sank on to the cushion. “At least it comes and goes. Maybe I will lie down for a few minutes.”

Tara watched as the color returned to her cheeks. She couldn’t be going into labor yet. She had more than a month to go as well as the three busiest weeks of tax season. Leslie had to be having those fake contractions. What had her husband called them? Braxton-Hicks? “Rest for a bit. I’ll get you some water. It will pass.”

Tara opened the refrigerator and pulled out a bottle of water. Leslie nodded and pulled her iPhone out of the pocket of her jacket. “I’ll catch up on some emails while I’m resting.”

“Uh-uh. Hand it over.” Tara offered the water with one hand and held the other out for the device. “It doesn’t count as resting if your eyes are open.”

Leslie reluctantly placed the slim black device in Tara’s outstretched palm. “You’re worse than Minnie.”

Tara grinned. “If only I were that ballsy. Now put your feet up. The Tenaples will be here before you close your eyes at this pace.”

 

 

You can also purchase my books at AmazonBarnes and NobleAstraea Press,All Romance eBooksBookstrand and Smashwords.

Return to Sweet Saturday Samples for more great excerpts.

11 comments

  1. Ah, the epic “is it time?”s of late pregnancy. I’m having flashbacks, LOL. Great sample, and I love the last sentiment in particular. ;c)

    Like

    1. I hated that waiting game, especially with the twins because the doctor kept telling us they would be early.

      Like

  2. I can almost feel those contractions. Perhaps I should close my eyes too. Great sample!

    Like

    1. That makes me feel good. I only had one really strong one before I had a c-section with the twins. It’s not much to go on.

      Like

  3. Great sample. I hope she isn’t going to have that baby right there.

    Like

  4. Great sample and she’s going to learn shortly enough that the doctors are always wrong. Baby comes when baby’s ready

    Like

    1. This baby wants to come way too early. It’s (I almost revealed the gender there. That wouldn’t be good) precocious already.

      Like

  5. Even in labor she wants to play on her phone. Sounds like me LOL!

    Like

    1. Leslie’s kindof a workaholic. We’ll see if that changes after the baby is born.

      Like

  6. Is this a WIP, Joselyn? Like the humor here.

    Like

    1. Yes, it is. I wrote the rough draft over a year ago. I had some better ideas for it and am reworking it now.

      Like

