Sweet Saturday Samples

Here’s another snippet from the short story the Warden’s Lantern:

The light flickered and she could hear Elmer descending the bank in skittering side-steps.  “We’ve got to get out of here.”

“But my glasses!” Barbara shouted a second too late.  The squerch of the frames under his size thirteen boot left no doubt to the location or condition of her spectacles. She jerked backward and yelped as she tore herself out of the brush. Her hand clutched her scalp, feeling for the bald spots where her hair had been torn from its roots. No bare spots, but the rat’s nest had to be attractive.

“Sorry,” he bent down to pick them up, but Barbara was sure they couldn’t be salvaged. “I think one lens is still good.”


You can also purchase my books at AmazonBarnes and Noble, Astraea PressAll Romance eBooksBookstrand and Smashwords.
8 comments

  1. I wonder why her glasses were off, and why they were on the ground. And I wonder how she’s going to get around without them. Will she have to depend on Elmer?

    Like

  2. I’d be as blind as a bat without my glasses. This excerpt is intriguing because it raises so many questions.

    Like

  3. I love her voice. A heroine who sees the grim humor in a bad situation: “the rat’s nest had to be attractive.” Great sample.

    Like

  4. I love the voice, too. The snarky comment about her hair gives me insight into Barbara’s personality.

    Like

  5. Love your new word: squerch. I can hear that sound! Can’t wait to see how she gets around with (maybe) one lens.

    Like

  6. I too like the rat’s nest! Good sample.

    Like

  7. Thanks for stopping by. I’m so glad you are enjoying the excerpts. I just finished writing it and can’t wait to send it out. I have to write a query letter and then it is off.

    Like

  8. This scene has just the right amount of spookie in it to keep me wanting to read more.

    Like

