A Fabulous Writers’ Retreat

Last weekend, W. S. Gager, Tess Grant and I arranged our first writers’ retreat. It was fabulous (and not just because I didn’ t have to wipe anyone’s bum for twenty-four hours.).

We had time to catch up on all the things going on in our lives, the progress on our current works in progress, and even some time to write. I had hoped to finish the Warden’s Lantern and I think I got really close to finishing the rough draft. It just needs some good critiques.

At another writers’ meeting, someone asked how I find time to write. She had kids and a full time job and is exhausted every night. Yes, I understand. Most nights, I just want to sit in front of the television and watch Mike Rowe on Dirty Jobs to remind myself that changing diapers isn’t so bad.

But if you want to do something, you have to make time for it. An hour, an afternoon, a weekend. I think W. S. Gager, Tess Grant and I will be making more time for our next writers’ retreat.

10 comments

  1. I’ve always wanted to do a writer’s retreat. Focus on nothing but writing (and hanging out with other writers). Good luck getting everything finished up!

    Like

    1. Maybe we’ll have to figure out a Michigan Astraea Press retreat. It’s great to have a solid chunk of time to devote to the story.

      Like

  2. Amen, sister! It was a tremendous experience. I came back with recharged batteries, a new chapter, and even more appreciation for my critique partners.

    Like

  3. I miss our GRRWG retreats at the Gerber House. I always got so much done, and it was so nice getting to talk to everyone. I don’t have to worry about wiping bums (except on Fridays) but there’s this guy at my house who thinks we have to eat on a regular basis.

    Like

    1. The GRRWG retreats were great. I wonder if we could garner enough support with all the new members.

      Like

  4. This was an excellent post! Thanks for sharing this today.

    Writers Wanted

    Like

    1. Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  5. I had a great time too! I loved the Grrwg retreats as well. Any time devoted to just writing is just perfect in my book!
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager on Writing

    Like

  6. hotdryandgrowning · ·

    Can you see the green spreading slowly from my scalp to my toes? Envy is not pretty, but it is real. I miss you guys.

    Like

    1. We miss you too! Wish you could have joined us.

      Like

