Sweet Saturday Samples

Here’s another snippet from the short story about Barbara and Elmer.  I’m leaning toward The Warden’s Light as the title. Or maybe the Warden’s Lantern. I don’t know yet.

The light swerved and inched closer. It flashed against her glasses. Barbara held her breath. This was it. She was actually going to document a local legend. She’d be brave enough to speak up at the local paranormal investigators’ meeting and with their backing, Elmer would have to believe her. Her feet wanted to jump and kick with excitement, but she forced herself to remain calm, analytical, like she was studying a column of numbers for the anomaly.

The legend claimed a gold glow like an old lantern wandered the forest and Barbara suspected it was somehow connected to the prison that had been abandoned over a decade ago Some said it was a warden out searching for an escaped prisoner who ended up disappearing himself. Others that it was the inmate himself trying to escape.

But no one had ever allowed the light to get close enough to see what produced it. Most accounts referenced wetting themselves, then running like heck.

She didn’t understand the fear. It was a floating light not Freddy Kreuger.

You can also purchase my books at AmazonBarnes and Noble, Astraea Press,All Romance eBooks, Bookstrand and Smashwords.

I’m also guest blogging at the Grand Rapids Region Writers Group blog about why I don’t bake. Stop by and say hi! (And as an added bonus, the picture of my attempt can be used as an appetite suppressant. lol.)

11 comments

  1. Scary stuff! I like where this is going. Nice buildup.

    Like

  2. I’d probably run too. I don’t bake either. I’m going now to check out your picture.

    Like

    1. Elaine, I had a bit of a scheduling problem. I set the post to go up at PM instead of AM. You can check it out now. You can enjoy the picture in its full glory now. 🙂

      Like

  3. Although Barbra doesn’t feel fear, I get the feeling that she should! I like both title possibilities, but somehow “lantern” makes it sound as if it’s a story from the past and just sounds spookier to me. Now I’m off to see your guest post about not baking.

    Like

  4. Maybe it’s Freddie’s brother.

    Like

  5. Sherry Gloag · ·

    Suspenseful 🙂 want to know more.

    Like

  6. Creepy! Way to build the suspense.

    Like

  7. I may be alone here, but I like ‘light’ more than lantern. I also like your baking picture at GRRWG–it reminds me of when I melted the chocolate chips for chocolate chip cookies because the mixing bowl was warm. Mmmm…all-over brown cookies with no chips.

    Like

  8. And another comment

    Like

    1. Thanks Lindsay! That should put me at a thousand. 🙂

      Like

