Potty Training update (Really can there be any more of these?)

Yes, obviously there can.

The Little One has started to train herself. This is good and bad news. Good news because she’s excited about it and seems to get it most of the time. Bad news because I am completely burned out on being in my bathroom. And the Little One has to go. A lot. And she likes to get treats. A lot.

Since I don’t want to discourage her (and I really can’t bear the thought of struggling with potty training), I take her every time she says she has to go, which is every ten to fifteen minutes–more during meal times. When she goes, her face lights up and she jumps from the potty and yells, “Pee, Mom! Treat!”

It’s very exciting as opposed to her sister’s progress. We’ve been to a physical therapist five times now and are finally seeing some progress. The most frustrating thing is that the physical therapist told us to do the opposite things of the other medical professionals and to keep doing the things that hadn’t been working during the previous six months. It made it feel so worth while to spend three hours round-trip going there, pay for a babysitter, then pay the co-pay for the therapist. This week, however, things finally are clicking for my daughter. If we’re not over the hill, we can at least see the top of it.

I’m finally feeling like I won’t still be ordering diapers when the kids go off to college.

7 comments

  1. Glad to hear the end is in sight! Maybe the end of the diapers will be in a joint gradation!
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager on Writing

    Like

  2. Woohoo! You’re going to make it.

    Like

  3. I’m just hoping the stomach flu this weekend didn’t derail the progress. Just what we need.

    Like

  4. I am right there with you. Son turns 3 March 25th and is terrified of even being in the bathroom. I put M&Ms on the counter (in a little bowl) and he sat on the toilet finally, but just once and nothing happened. We’re just being patient, but I want him to start pre-school, soon, and they won’t take him until he’s potty trained. I feel your pain! Keep it up, this will all be a memory some day. 🙂

    Like

    1. My daughter was the same way. It took months just to get her to sit on the potty. They let her try preschool, but she didn’t improve, so she is staying home, but her brother is going. I figure this will all even out when I’m 80 and refusing to do something they want me to. 🙂

      Like

  5. Congratulations on the mile stone. Next thing you’ll have to worry about are when the boys start coming over.

    Like

    1. I don’t even want to think about it.lol.

      Like

